random thoughts for Thursday March 13th, 2014

oh yeah!!!!FINALLY!!! We are looking for a high of 61 today…..just a few days ago we were shivering in our boots!!!

337907main_chalkings-beautiful_946-710

Your favorite blog is sponsored by PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN….I have mentioned before that our pre-owned lot has about every make and model on it….And I’m not joking!!! Right now we are your CHEVY IMPALA headquarters……ha ha…..PIERSON FORD has a DOZEN, count them, TWELVE pre-owned CHEVY IMPALAS on the lot!!!

2670029_37264393_640

If you are looking for great mileage, and maybe a car for your son or daughter who is graduating this year, check this out!!! We have a 2013 FORD FOCUS SE with only 7500 miles on it!!!

2466068_33895350_640

Would you like to drive around in style? PIERSON FORD has on our pre-owned lot a 2013 LINCOLN MKZ with only 22,000 miles on it….it is ONE SHARP CAR….

2634038_36591692_640

For these and other great vehicles check out our website at http://piersonford.com/ call us at 1-800-627-1237, or stop and see us in the auto plaza in ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA!!!

1. GET READY TO LAUGH!!!!

I could not agree more with this…..WHY IS IT SO TOUGH?

1622042_479848075448674_1959937235_n

This one is short, sweet and to the point……

1456616_794792983883490_469113349_n

Okay, you folks know me pretty well….This next one is TOTALLY my sense of humor……

555775_821342184561903_687434650_n

The headline would read “AT & T LOVES E.T.”…..

530333_799600306736091_637399867_n

PUCKER UP BABY!!!

1616691_10151841808850443_916330441_n

and finally, thank goodness it wasn’t the hamburger!!!

559926_789957291032717_1561505478_n

2. It’s another installment of “OUR WORLD HAS GONE CRAZY.”

Did you hear about this? A two year old girl has been suspended from daycare for three days for bringing a CHEESE SANDWICH to the daycare….YEAH….how about that? This two year old’s Dad gave her a cheese sandwich, and like kids will do, she hid it to eat it later. Well, the rules state “no outside food allowed.” They say that’s because of food allergies among some of the kids…..Okay, I get that….I understand that rules should not be broken, so I do understand where the daycare is coming from….BUT, A TWO YEAR OLD? This child probably doesn’t even know what the situation is……Here is the culprit that caused all the pandemonium…..

IMG_3139

3. Not many people can say that their Grandfather is a CLOWN….Well, my Grandpa was funny and all, but not a clown……Cincinnati Reds pitcher TREVOR BELL can claim this, however….He is the Grandson of BOZO THE CLOWN….Yep, his Grandpappy was BOB BELL who played BOZO THE CLOWN on WGN-TV in CHICAGO from 1960-1984……

bob-bell-bozo

BOZO’S Grandson also pays tribute to him with a tattoo……(I hope he doesn’t wear a squirting flower when he’s on the pitcher’s mound.)

trevorbell

4. GAME SHOW HOSTS ARE DROPPING LIKE FLIES….Well, that’s probably not the appropriate way to say it but it’s true…….

First, “THE DATING GAMES” host, JIM LANGE died at the age of 81……..

197bb9d0-9fb6-11e3-bb2c-a791d49de652_JimLange1_022714

nmij1103lange01

And, not so long after that, the host of “TREASURE HUNT”, and “JACKPOT” died….His name was GEOFF EDWARDS…..He was 83……..

Geoff-Edwards-Dead-618x400

Here he is recently…He’s on the left……

kij&geoff1

WINK MARTINDALE, wherever you are, STAY INSIDE…..DON’T TOUCH ANYTHING…….

5. This is one of the most horrible things I have seen and heard in many many years…..In fact, I shouldn’t even write about it, but I wanted to show you how low some people can go……”FAST AND THE FURIOUS” star PAUL WALKER died November 30th in a horrible horrible car crash that also started on fire….Well, some idiots are selling DEATH MEMORABILIA from the crash site……Yeah, no kidding….And, supposedly, these are the sunglasses that he was wearing……..

0313-paul-walker-death-crash-auction-items-launch-1

It’s pathetic what some people will do to make money….How about this? Go out and get a REAL JOB and work hard for your money like everyone else!!! UNBELIEVABLE…….my question is, wouldn’t these items be charred beyond recognition? Yeah, they also are selling the fire extinguisher used at the site…..UNREAL….

6. ON TO BIGGER AND BRIGHTER NEWS!!!

I have a song that is, honestly, one of my favorite songs from growing up….I used to spend hours and hours and hours playing records in my Grandparent’s basement while the other kids were outside playing…..Apparently that’s where my love of music came from!!! One of the songs I used to wear the grooves off of was called “YOU DON’T HAVE TO PAINT ME A PICTURE” by GARY LEWIS AND THE PLAYBOYS……

100_1938

51Y9gMoqDgL

Remember a couple of their other big hits?

gary-lewis-and-the-playboys-this-diamond-ring-liberty-3

Gary%20Lewis%20&%20the%20Playboys-good

gary-lewis-and-the-playboys-everybody-loves-a-clown-1965

I’m sure most of you know, but GARY LEWIS is the son of legendary comedian JERRY LEWIS…..It’s not his birthday today, but I wanted to salute him anyway….GARY LEWIS is now 68 years old….Here is a picture of the band recently, and one with his famous Papa…….

39th Annual Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon

Gary-Lewis-and-The-Playboys-588

7. OKAY, IT’S MUSIC TIME!!! I will save the best for last…ha ha….

Here’s the number one hit from GARY LEWIS AND THE PLAYBOYS called “THIS DIAMOND RING.”

And here it is!!! One of my faves from my childhood….I will let you in on a little secret….My jukebox at home is completely full of classic country records…….This song is one of only TWO songs from pop or rock and roll that made my jukebox right now….In fact, these next two are the ONLY two records to not leave my jukebox since I bought it around ten years ago…..

Here’s the awesome song “YOU DON’T HAVE TO PAINT ME A PICTURE.”

8. Isn’t it crazy that I featured TWO singers this week and both are on the LIBERTY label?

Are you curious about what the other song is that has never left my jukebox? It’s “YOU DIDN’T HAVE TO BE SO NICE” by THE LOVIN’ SPOONFUL….Another in that category of favorite songs of my childhood…….

9. JOKE OF THE DAY:

A cat died and went to heaven. St. Peter said to the cat, “Is there anything I can do to make your stay here better?” The cat said, “I’ve been sleeping on a cold floor and I’d love a warm pillow to sleep on. St. Peter gave a pillow to the cat, and the cat headed off to bed. Later, some mice came to St. Peter. They wanted roller skates to get around faster so St. Peter gave them their skates and the mice went off. The next evening St. Peter checks in on the cat. “How was your night last night?” The cat said “That pillow you gave me is really nice, but what I like the most about heaven is the Meals on Wheels.”

HAVE A GREAT REST OF THE DAY AND AN AWESOME WEEKEND!!!

JAY DEAN

One comment on “random thoughts for Thursday March 13th, 2014

  1. Duane Rasmussen says:

    Hey man
    Brilliant humor.Music selection is great.
    Keep it up.
    Duane Rasmussen
    East London
    south Africa

Leave a Reply

