random thoughts for Wednesday January 8th, 2014

MOST EVERYBODY KNOWS WHO’S BIRTHDAY IT IS TODAY….

happybirthday_elvis_tag

yep…ELVIS PRESLEY has a birthday today…how old? stick around, you’ll find out…and you can dance to some of his music, too!!!

your blog is sponsored by PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN….

we received some big news the other day in our sales meeting…..

to absolutely NOBODY’S surprise, the FORD F-150 was AMERICA’S NUMBER ONE SELLING TRUCK FOR ANOTHER YEAR!!! guess what? THAT MAKES 37 YEARS STRAIGHT THAT NOBODY HAS TOUCHED US…..it’s not a shock to us, because we work with the FORD F150 everyday….we hear what customers say…we see how excited customers get….we hear all the time “this is by far the best truck on the market.” we thank the for saying that, BUT WE KNOW……and that’s not being cocky either….it’s a fact….when it comes to buying a truck, wouldn’t you rather spend your hard earned money on the truck that is NUMBER ONE IN AMERICA FOR 37 YEARS RUNNING? amazing…..

here are my two favorite F-150’S…..

the first one is the RUBY RED color….

color-13

and my second favorite color is a brand new one…..SUNSET METALLIC….it’s sweet….

vehicle

come out and see us at PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN…we’re located in the auto plaza, north highway 281, right across from SHOPKO….you can also give us a call toll free at 1-800-627-1237, or you can check out our entire lineup online at: http://piersonford.com/

1. LET’S ENJOY A GOOD LAUGH…..

okay…I find good cartoons all the time, but THIS IS PROBABLY MY NEW FAVORITE…..I’m still laughing……

the_very_first_day_of_school_2000195

this next one was taken on a YMCA survey….HILARIOUS….

1555528_10202758955631826_672715628_n

this is probably a big shocker to you…but MY MOUTH gets me in trouble at home…just like this…..

3

well, all I can say about the next one is….I GUESS THAT’S WHAT IT’S ALL ABOUT….

1475917_551117814978639_1906362070_n

okay…I’m not a fan of needles, but I have two tattoos…hopefully one day I won’t be like these gentlemen….

cfbffb3fcc4ea09ebac1e6dd1d7b8ece

untit

2. hard to believe, but ELVIS PRESLEY would have been 79 today….SEVENTY NINE!!!! that’s crazy……..of course, he did die at an early age of 42….sad day that was….most of us can remember exactly where we were when ELVIS died…..

I REMEMBER OURS….we were at our farm outside of LANGFORD, SD, watching the afternoon classic for this area “CAPTAIN 11″….our Mama was ironing clothes in the room while we watched tv….then it scrolled across the tv….”ELVIS PRESLEY, THE KING OF ROCK AND ROLL, HAS DIED AT 42 AT HIS GRACELAND HOME IN MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE.” we were in shock…..if my memory serves me correctly, Mom even shed some tears….it was unreal……

anyway, today we celebrate the fact that he was even on this earth….ELVIS PRESLEY…79…still hard to say…..

here’s a couple of early photos of ELVIS….it’s no wonder girls went crazy for him…..good lookin’ dude!!!

Elvis-Presley

Elvis-Presley-elvis-presley-22316485-2250-2533

and then came the late 60’s and early 70’s sideburns….and a little different look…..

elvis-1

and toward the end, ELVIS became heavy and bloated…..but still good looking!!!

07-elvis-presley-081407

fat_elvis

I have been in ELVIS’ home, “GRACELAND” twice in my life…and both times I got goosebumps walking in the front door, realizing that ELVIS himself, had walked thru this door hundreds and hundreds of times……the rooms are as ELVIS left them….GAUDY 70’S COLORS….and I actually almost felt like I was violating him by being in his home….it was super cool though…….

the big question is, what would ELVIS look like today at 79? I ran this photo recently, but i’ll do it again just in case you missed it….this is one artist’s rendition of how he would look today….I would imagine this would be very close…..

elvis2

3. HOW ABOUT A LITTLE ELVIS MUSIC?

here’s probably my favorite ELVIS song….”MY WAY.”

I was always a big fan of “GOOD LUCK CHARM.”

4. I have a few questions that my demented mind has been wondering today…..

*** is it ESCALLOPED POTATOES or SCALLOPED POTATOES? I’ve seen it both ways….which one is it? the MILLSTONE in ABERDEEN has “ESCALLOPED” on their sign today, and it got me thinking…..

***at lunch today in my car, I ended up putting MCDONALD’S salt on BURGER KING fries…..is that wrong? will the burger police be hunting me down? was I cheating on RONALD?

***do they have dressings rooms in VICTORIA’S SECRETS? and if they do, ISN’T THAT GROSS? I mean, it’s undergarments…personal items like that shouldn’t be tried on, in my opinion…

5. this next story is completely sad, but it made me sit in wonder at where it happened……

a SOUTH DAKOTA man died of hypothermia……where?

IN MISSISSIPPI!!!! yeah, MISSISSIPPI….that’s how this recent cold snap has affected our country…..you just don’t hear stories like this out of the deep south……I heard that some cities down south went below zero for a night or two…..shocking, but I can’t feel sorry for them….even if you live there, sorry, no sympathy…ha ha…..you haven’t lived until you go outside when the WIND CHILL IS 60 BELOW ZERO…..bikini weather……..

6. happy birthday wishes today to legendary game show host BOB EUBANKS…he turns 76 today……

of course, we mostly remember BOB EUBANKS as the host of “THE NEWLYWED GAME.”

Bob-Eubanks-Newlywed

one of my favorite BOB EUBANKS game shows was “CARD SHARKS.”

CardSharks-BobEubanks1

“it’s a seven, do you want to go higher or lower?”

CardSharks-BobEubanks2

he also hosted other shows including “TRIVIA TRAP,” which was pretty cool…..

here’s BOB EUBANKS today at 76…….

Bob+Eubanks+International+Documentary+Association+kL5_xFPfnUXl

bob-eubanks_0

7. a country music great is turning 63 tomorrow…it’s CRYSTAL GAYLE….I’m sure you remember her for great songs like…..

crystal-gayle-dont-it-make-my-brown-eyes-blue-1977-3

35690

crystal-gayle-somebody-loves-you-mono-united-artists

e2_3660639_0_CrystalGayleBestOfCrystalGayle

crystalgayle99671

here’s CRYSTAL GAYLE today at 63, including one with her famous older sister…LORETTA LYNN!!!

Loretta+Lynn+Crystal+Gayle+Loretta+Lynn+Tribute+o7rRaIxuUZHl

Crystal+Gayle+Loretta+Lynn+Celebrates+50th+-G1HRmlFlWXl

and of course, CRYSTAL GAYLE’S trademark….that hair…that long beautiful hair…..

crystal-gayle

8. AND NOW, SOME CRYSTAL GAYLE MUSIC….

even though “DON’T IT MAKE MY BROWN EYES BLUE” is one of the biggest songs of the 70’s, it was never one of my favorites…don’t get me wrong, I LIKE it, but wasn’t my favorite CRYSTAL song..

however, one of my favorites, if not my favorite, is this song…”SOMEBODY LOVES YOU.”

and here’s another good one….”HALF THE WAY.”

9. JOKE OF THE DAY:

A woman gets on a bus with her baby. The bus driver says: ”Ugh, that’s the ugliest baby I’ve ever seen!” The woman walks to the rear of the bus and sits down, fuming. She says to a man next to her: ”The driver just insulted me!” The man says: ”You go up there and tell him off. Go on, I’ll hold your monkey for you.”

YIKES!!! HA HA….HAVE A GREAT DAY EVERYBODY!!!

JAY DEAN

Leave a Reply

