random thoughts for Thursday February 27th, 2014

WE CAN ONLY HOPE SO!!! AND SOON!!!!!!

deadsoon

your favorite blog is sponsored by PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA….

guess what? We now have the BIGGEST selection of FORD F-150’S that I have ever seen on the lot at PIERSON’S….ready for this? OVER 75 NEW FORD TRUCKS ARE ON OUR LOT…..yeah, over SEVENTY FIVE…and they are still coming in……

0904-ford-trucks-630x420

If you drive on our lot and only see a couple of rows in the front, you’re missing out…because our BACKLOT is completely jammed with new trucks…..so, don’t forget to stop by and check it out……PLUS, we have a huge assortment of other brand new FORD products on the lot……

What would I buy right now? Well, if you are feeling compassionate and ready to buy your friend Jay a vehicle, this would be my choice…..

a 2014 FORD F-150 SXT IN SUNSET COLOR…..love love love it….

ford-f-150-stx-super-3_600x0w

See our complete lineup of vehicles online at http://piersonford.com/ or give us a call at 1-800-627-1237…..or stop and see us in the auto plaza, north highway 281 in ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA……

*****oh yeah, and don’t forget about that back lot of trucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1. LET’S KICK OFF THE BLOG WITH SOME FUN….

WHAT ABOUT US NORWEGIANS?

1779949_1465451793668583_1474792256_n

someone at this job needs a promotion for CREATIVITY!!!!!

15109_1465060000374429_667179482_n

Well, I guess the bright side is that the guy donated money to the park….WOW….

1619323_1462931367253959_1214552573_n

MY PREVIOUS JOB….

1947736_1465451017001994_1672424183_n

This would be completely something that I would do…and about everyone else that I work with…ha ha…..

1560540_1457001767846919_6827704_n

this would happen in my house….ONCE…..AND TRUST ME, ONLY ONCE…..

1507189_1465451217001974_346973610_n

2. What is your favorite sandwich? I have one that turns the stomach of a lot of people, but I CRAVE it a lot…..

you take bread…..

plus….

0005150024177_500X500

plus…….

il_570xN_287483441

and yes, I could have bought Miracle Whip in a five gallon bucket…….

it’s my “peanut butter and miracle whip sandwiches”…..here’s the deal….I am a fussy consumer of some products…It MUST be Jif….it MUST be Miracle Whip…..not mayonnaise, and not Peter Pan peanut butter……..Back when I was on the radio, we talked about these sandwiches at length one morning….and so, we bought all the necessary ingredients and made peanut butter and Miracle Whip sandwiches for our listeners…..and yes, a lot of people stopped by….what amazed me was the incredible number of people who ALREADY ate these sandwiches all the time like me….good stuff…..makes me want one right now…….

3. I am funny about my “products list.” I absolutely have to have HEINZ ketchup….anything else tastes like crap to me……..the same goes for pork and beans…they have to be VAN KAMPS….not anything else…….I figure this…I don’t ask for a lot of things in this lifetime, so my craziness about this should be okay…….

4. I haven’t been excited about the past few weeks of movie releases…..My wife and I both think that some real “stinkers” have been out in the theater lately….That changes this week….

I cannot WAIT to see the new movie “SON OF GOD.”

Son_Of_God_poster_small

Just in time for the Lenten season and Easter, it’s a great story of the life of JESUS….and the previews look exceptional…..This is one movie that we are going to HAVE to take our youth group to……….

The last great Christian movie, in my opinion, was MEL GIBSON’S movie “THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST.”

936full-the-passion-of-the-christ-poster

yes it was gory……yes it was gross….yes, parts of it were hard to watch…but, I say this…HOW DO WE KNOW IT WASN’T WORSE THAN WHAT THE MOVIE SHOWS? This is one movie that is required of our youth group and confirmation class each and every Lenten season…..maybe “SON OF GOD” will be like that, too……

And I can’t wait for the Easter season, because a movie is coming out that I have been waiting for……

heaven-is-for-real-poster

that’s right, “HEAVEN IS FOR REAL” based on the best selling book about a true story of a young boy, OBVIOUSLY, going to heaven and back….I say OBVIOUSLY, because there is no way this young child could have made this stuff up……my wife and I teared up during the PREVIEWS on this one…I can’t imagine how emotional the movie will be…….

5. I haven’t taken much time to talk about the U.S. hockey teams agonizing defeat in the Olympics…….and believe me, there was a LOT MORE riding on the U.S./CANADA hockey game that a gold medal……

@MarkLazerus via Twitter

DANG IT…..we have him for another few years…….This alone should have given our boys the power to win the game………

6. I have been singing some great TV themes in my head…….and I want to play a couple of them for you…..get ready to CRANK UP YOUR SPEAKERS and sing along with these two……

The first one was a show starring WILLIAM KATT, CONNIE SELLECA, and ROBERT CULP….remember “THE GREATEST AMERICAN HERO?”

201318199_1388011078

GreatestAmericanHero_S2_MC

Just to let you know, the very good actor ROBERT CULP died in 2010 at the age of 79……

Robert+Culp+1930+2010+FILE+PHOTOS+oyttdTlu1J3l

The star of the show, WILLIAM KATT is still around…He is now 63 years old……

william-katt-2012-saturn-awards-01

and the beautiful CONNIE SELLECA is now 58 years old, and is, of course, married to JOHN TESH…..

Connie+Sellecca+John+Tesh+James+Taylor+Honored+i3bmtX58U0ol

AND NOW….THE THEME FROM “THE GREATEST AMERICAN HERO.” this song made it to number 2 on the Billboard charts…..and the singer of the song is JOEY SCARBURY…..get ready to sing along!!!

And, for our second TV theme song, we switch to a show that ran from 1974-1976….It was a song about “trucking” that starred CLAUDE AKINS and FRANK CONVERSE…..remember the show “MOVIN’ ON?”

key_art_movin_on

CLAUDE AKIN starred in the show….You might also remember him as “SHERIFF LOBO” on TV back in the 80’s……CLAUDE AKIN died in 1994 at the age of 67 due to cancer……

akins

FRANK CONVERSE co-starred on the show….He has been in numerous TV projects since them…He is now 75……..

converse

The theme song from “MOVIN’ ON” was actually a NUMBER ONE country hit back in 1975 and was performed by the legendary MERLE HAGGARD….See if you remember this…..

7. I was thinking about my Grandma Haaland the other day…..I was thinking about her cooking….There is nothing out there today like Grandma’s cooking back in the 70’s…..I would be there watching her make homemade doughnuts…..I got to eat the center part…..she made incredible banana cream pie, only rivaled by Max and Erma’s banana cream pie…..Her homemade applesauce was better than any I have ever tasted…….and she made a blueberry desert that made our mouths water…..My beautiful MAMA can make that blueberry desert just like Grandma did……AAAHH…THE MEMORIES……

8. Happy birthday wishes were going out yesterday to the great FATS DOMINO…he turned 86 yesterday……..I remember great music by this legend……

012513-celebs-new-orleans-fats-domino_jpg_custom1200x675x20

fats-domino-blueberry-hill-1956-15

fats-domino-dont-come-knockin-imperial

5640790661_eabe4a343b_o

check out this incredible photo with RAY CHARLES and “THE KILLER” JERRY LEE LEWIS….

12335470-standard

FATS DOMINO made headlines a few years back during “HURRICANE KATRINA” in LOUISIANA back in 2005…..FATS chose to stay in his house, mainly because of his wife’s poor health…..He was presumed dead, even causing one fan to write “R.I.P. FATS” on his house!!! Well, needless to say, FATS DOMINO and his family were rescued….some say he was on the roof of his home…..don’t know if that’s true or not……..

here’s FATS DOMINO recently….Happy 86th!!!

Mardi Gras Fats Domino

and, of course, we have to play a couple by this legend…..OVER 35 TOP TEN RECORDS…..many of them “GOLD” records with sales over one million copies……

Here’s the all time classic “BLUEBERRY HILL.”

and here’s one that I played the heck out of on my turntable when I was a kid….Mom and Dad had this song and I loved it!!! it’s called “DON’T COME KNOCKIN”…..

9. My main inspiration for getting into radio has a birthday today….actor HOWARD HESSEMAN turns 74 today….He was “DR. JOHNNY FEVER” on the TV show “W.K.R.P. IN CINCINNATI”….loved that show…It honestly is the reason I got into radio……I tried to pattern my show after “JOHNNY FEVER”….I felt that people needed to be entertained in the morning….people needed to wake up….so, I got wild and crazy……just like JOHNNY….

273585798_640

fever_480_poster

HOWARD HESSEMAN also starred in “HEAD OF THE CLASS”…..

MV5BMTI4Mzg5MTg1MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjE2NDAxMw@@__V1_SX640_SY720_

Here’s HOWARD HESSEMAN today at 74…….

Howard+Hesseman+Ray+Romano+Hosts+International+jWUPn8KO0Bll

He apparently doesn’t smile much anymore…ha ha…..

Howard+Hesseman+Ray+Romano+Hosts+International+KPW_9SkRTdXl

10. And finally, a legendary actress turns 84 today…it’s the beautiful JOANNE WOODWARD……

Joanne_Woodward_-_1960s

Most people know that she was part of “Hollywood royalty” from her marriage to PAUL NEWMAN….

Joanne-Woodward-Paul-Newman-Long-Hot-Summer

the great PAUL NEWMAN died back in 2008 at the age of 83 from lung cancer……

Paul-Newmand-with-Joanne-Woodward-Last-photo

Here’s JOANNE WOODWARD today at 84……..

Joanne+Woodward+SeriousFun+Children+Network+GhExAvD_WPfl

11. JOKE OF THE DAY:

There were three guys in a bar boasting about the amount of control they have over their wives after getting drunk. One said my wife never says no to me, the second one says my wife always says yes to me. After a while one of the first two turns to the third and says, “well, what about you, what sort of control do you have over your wife?” The third fellow says “I’ll tell you. Just the other night my wife came to me on her hands and knees.” The first two guys were amazed. “What happened then?” They asked. She said, “get out from under the bed and fight like a man”.

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND EVERYBODY!!!

JAY DEAN

About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

Leave a Reply

