random thoughts for Tuesday April 8th, 2014

I’M BACK!!!!! (Please obey the following rules….)

10151305_419791091498884_1896486335_n

Your favorite blog is sponsored by PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN….Guess what? With the warmer weather, we are getting a lot of people hitting our lots!!! Why? Because now is the time to start looking for a different vehicle….We are all getting “spring fever”, and one of the best ways to combat “spring fever” is to get a different vehicle…..Everyone likes a change once in awhile…right? At PIERSON FORD, we are always updating our pre-owned lot….In fact, since I got back from four days in Minneapolis, I have noticed changes on the lot……And remember this….At PIERSON FORD, we carry about every make and model of pre-owned vehicles……pickups, cars, suv’s…..Plus, many parents are now looking into vehicles for their kids who will be going off to college!!! WE HAVE A NUMBER OF IDEAS FOR YOU!!!! Including buying a brand new 2014 FORD FIESTA….You won’t believe the prices!!!!

FordLogoFlames

h_logo

Stop and see us at PIERSON FORD, in the auto plaza, north highway 281 in ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA….Call us at 1-800-627-1237…Or check us out online at http://piersonford.com/

1. LET’S TICKLE YOUR FUNNY BONE!!!!!!

After a few days off, I am SO ready for one of these……

1613978_488655794567902_8116179849386064903_n

Well, at least someone is FINALLY HONEST about these……..

1011818_488548814578600_302446622739461698_n

I know a few guys who could fit into this next category…….not me, however….ha ha…..

10169431_243428342507980_581526643_n

I hope I never get to this stage……for my wife’s sake, and, of course, for my own LIFE…..

10155797_844304015584266_735007004_n

I think that sometimes we ALL feel like this……

1012951_843363409011660_1298228916_n

Okay, now that I’m three weeks away from 50, I am taking this next one SERIOUSLY…..

1982320_846033212078013_1685623250_n

2. Okay, I am going to start out taking about country music….If you know me, or read this blog a lot, you know that I am NOT A FAN of “new country music.” Other than about three or four leftovers from the 90’s and 2000’s, I think there’s a lot of very “mediocre” talent out there…….With that said, the ACM award show was this past weekend…..I really didn’t care about any of the categories, except for ENTERTAINER OF THE YEAR….I was hoping and praying that KING GEORGE, GEORGE STRAIT would win it….and guess what? HE DID….It is my humble opinion that GEORGE STRAIT should automatically be given that award EVERY SINGLE YEAR until he retires….There is seriously NOBODY out there who touches him…….

George+Strait+front1

Have you ever seen GEORGE STRAIT with a baseball cap on? And not a cowboy hat?

George-Strait-Wallpapers-12

As you probably know, I met GEORGE STRAIT a few years ago…I have actually personally met with him THREE TIMES….He is as genuine and kind in person as he looks on stage…Very unassuming….Extremely polite……Here we are many many years ago….We both look like kids…….

921378_10200938750847844_1456169641_o

I think when all is said and done, GEORGE STRAIT will go down in history as the biggest country music star of all time….Not only for the hits, but for everything else around it….The concert tours….The incredible fan base….George Strait IS the king…….

3. Have you ever taken a picture at the perfect time? I have never had that opportunity, but for some, they just snap the picture, check out the picture and notice that they have taken the PERFECT picture……

CASE IN POINT…..

1451425_488831127883702_2477729636856142369_n

ISN’T THAT HILARIOUS?

4. As you probably know, I had the opportunity to be with my boys for FOUR DAYS in Minneapolis this past weekend……I was absolutely in heaven….I seriously could NEVER EVER spend ENOUGH time with my boys……We had a blast too….Here are some of the highpoints…….(luckily there weren’t any low points…..)

THE WEATHER: When we were packing to leave Thursday night, the Twin Cities were under a “winter storm warning” with the possibility of up to 15 inches of snow…..We were grudgingly setting up “alternate plans” for the way down….Luckily for us, on Friday morning, they had the warning expiring at 1pm instead of 7pm that night…..And so, we ventured out and seriously didn’t hit ANY kind of adverse weather all the way down…And by the time we arrived in the cities, the roads were clear…..They received seven and a half inches of snow, but it sure didn’t look like it….UNTIL WE GOT DOWNTOWN….What a mess….Those downtown streets were not meant for snow……But the good news was, by Sunday there wasn’t hardly ANY snow to be seen anywhere….I like those kind of storms……..

THE FOOD: We made a pact on the way down that we were not going to eat at any places in the Twin Cities that we can eat at in Aberdeen……(only on the way down and way home.)….We did it…..The first place we wandered into was a steakhouse in downtown MINNEAPOLIS…..

7Steakhouse_logo_v1

We were WAY out of our element in that establishment…..Plus we were wearing jeans, hats, and sports jerseys……We got a few looks, but we stayed anyway…..I am so glad we did….We had the BEST STEAKS we have EVER EVER EVER HAD……However, it was very very expensive….I have never spent 40-50 dollars per person on a meal…..And it will probably be a long time until we do it again…..But, I am glad we did it once…….TERRIFIC FOOD……

Next, we visited one of our favorite places……..BUBBA GUMP’S in the MALL OF AMERICA…..

72713580

We have always enjoyed this place, and we made it known to each other on the way down, that we WERE absolutely going to eat there……They didn’t disappoint….By the way, that bucket that you saw in the previous picture? That’s what my son MITCHELL’S food came in……Yep, a bucket of food…….

On the way home we stopped in ST. CLOUD for lunch……We went to a place that I had the opportunity to try down in the NASHVILLE area……

five-guys-burger-joint-logo

Seriously, one of the best burgers you will EVER EAT….

FiveGuys

It is kind of cool, because when you walk in, they have a sign as to where their potatoes came from for that particular day……We, of course, had IDAHO…..ha ha…..But, they give you WAY TOO MANY FRIES….They are super delicious, but we ended up putting most of ours in a paper bag to take home….Which we promptly dumped into a garbage can in ALEXANDRIA, MN. when we stopped for gas….They were filling the pickup with too much greasy smells……..GREAT BURGERS…GREAT SCENERY…TREMENDOUS SERVICE…….

The only disappointment when it comes to food was that we “forgot” to go to MATT’S BAR in MINNEAPOLIS for their “JUCY LUCY”….This is the burger that has been sampled on different eating shows on national television…This burger is well known across most of the country, from what I have heard…….

slide1-matts-new

slide2-matts-new

We had good intentions of going there, but we honestly forgot….And then on Sunday afternoon, we are trying to find a certain record store, and accidentally drive by MATT’S BAR….We looked at each other and said, “DANG IT.” (or something to that effect.)…..Well, maybe next time……

THE GAME: As you know, the main purpose of our trip was to watch MY MINNESOTA WILD against TYLER’S PITTSBURGH PENGUINS…..My son MITCHELL wore a MINNESOTA WILD jersey, even though he cheers for the DETROIT RED WINGS……

***This is the honest to GOD truth…..While we were sitting eating lunch in downtown ST. PAUL before the game, I told the boys that my favorite thing about MINNESOTA WILD hockey at home, is the horns going off signifying that the WILD have scored a goal….I told them that I love that sound and the sound of the roaring crowd….My son TYLER says, “Well, too bad you’re not going to hear that horn ONE TIME tonight.” To which I replied, “That’s right, we’re not going to hear it ONCE…we’re going to hear it FOUR TIMES….”…..We didn’t realize how right I was….THE MINNESOTA WILD WON 4-0…..We heard the horns FOUR TIMES…..Crazy, huh?

My favorite team is within ONE POINT of making the playoffs this year, and by the time you read this, we may have gotten that point tonight against the much hated BOSTON BRUINS…..But back to this game….My MINNESOTA WILD scored almost right away in the first period, and it set the pace for the night…TYLER’S favorite team acted like they weren’t even there…..But, don’t take anything away from my favorite team…THEY DOMINATED THAT NIGHT…….

Our goalie, ILYA BRYZGALOV was “LIGHTS OUT.”

nate-prosser-ilya-bryzgalov-nhl-pittsburgh-penguins-minnesota-wild

Three of the four goals were right in front of us…Including one from a brilliant new player, ERIK HAULA….

628x471

My boys and I are “HOCKEY CRAZY”, and this postseason is going to be awesome!!!!

10151273_10203407091314813_2045482889_n

5. Here is a picture of my two boys….Ummm..I mean, MEN…..I love being a parent……I don’t think you truly know what “love” is until you have kids……And, it is so satisfying watching them grow up and realizing that you did a pretty darn good job raising them……LOVE MY BOYS…..

10177345_10153967394800244_6398790408284592364_n

We were in a store in the MALL OF AMERICA, and my son TYLER said, “here, put this one and stand still.” And so I did….And this is what happened…….

1484123_10153966625945244_3790011962280978813_n

THE WORLD’S OLDEST AND WORST NORWEGIAN RAPPER…..ha ha……

6. This about drove me crazy….I can’t believe that a warning sign is needed for this……

So, let me get this straight……With my baby, DOGS are okay, but FISH ARE NOT? GOOD GRIEF…..

10247249_488818127885002_4028554619878422423_n

7. While I was gone, we lost a goodie…..The legendary MICKEY ROONEY died at the age of 93…..I know we use the word “legendary” probably too much, but in this case it is well deserved…MICKEY ROONEY has been in show business practically all of his life….Ever since he was very little…..Here’s a younger picture of him…….

Mickey_Rooney_still

I loved MICKEY ROONEY, not just for his acting skills, but for his skills of picking leading ladies……To which I mean one of my all time favorites, the beautiful JUDY GARLAND…..

03Love_Finds_Andy_Hardy_-_Mickey_Rooney___Judy_Garland_1

Most of the younger generation will remember MICKEY ROONEY from the BEN STILLER movie “NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM.” He played a cranky old man opposite DICK VAN DYKE and BILL COBBS…..This is the movie where MICKEY ROONEY delivered one of his most famous lines…..Talking to BEN STILLER’S character he says, “YOU’RE ONE OF THOSE WEIRDEES AREN’T YOU?” Weirdees….very funny……..

006NTM_Ben_Stiller_021

Sadly, in his later life, MICKEY ROONEY had to deal with elderly abuse….A situation that he even went to CONGRESS to speak about…..But, today we focus on the positive…..We focus on the legacy that this great man has left us……Here are a couple of pictures of MICKEY ROONEY lately……

The second one was actually taken like three weeks ago……..

Mickey+Rooney+Arrivals+Tony+Awards+Viewing+iGDOxE8QfIJl

Mickey+Rooney+Stars+Vanity+Fair+Oscar+Party+O698vUm_kyOl

“HOLLYWOOD HEAVEN” is getting to be an awfully cool place……..

8. When I arrived home Monday night, I spent the night alone, because my wife is in COLORADO….So, I did something that I love to do…..I watched a “live” concert DVD…..who was it?

MY ALL TIME FAVORITE SINGER…OLIVIA NEWTON JOHN…….

5099951168896;canvas;canvas

This was her concert from a few years ago in SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA…..It is an incredible DVD…….

***I find it amazing that someone can make me fall in love all over again after 35-40 years……Her voice just mesmerizes me……And she is one of the most beautiful ladies I have ever seen……

***I told my wife one time that she only had one woman to worry about in this world who would steal me from her….OLIVIA NEWTON JOHN….She said, “I’M NOT TOO WORRIED.” And, of course, she’s right……….

OLIVIA still looks fantastic at 65!!!! YEAH…SIXTY FIVE!!!! UNREAL…..

Olivia+Newton+John+Olivia+Newton+John+Welcome+zc9UCF652lvl

olivia-newton-john-bed6ff62a093f9a5

Do you want to see a couple of my favorite photos of OLIVIA NEWTON JOHN? it’s the front and back cover of her “COME ON OVER” album….

ESPECIALLY THE BACK COVER…..YIKES…..

141895b

olivicoo1164154047460

Love this woman….I would give about anything to be able to have a nice close front row seat in LAS VEGAS to see her…Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen……..

9. CHECK OUT A COUPLE OF VIDEOS FROM THAT CONCERT….She still has the voice!!!!

Here’s how she starts her show….and one of my favorite songs, “HAVE YOU NEVER BEEN MELLOW.”

Here’s an incredibly cool version of her hit “DON’T STOP BELIEVING.”

That’s it….I am going to watch it again tonight……During the hockey 20 minute intermissions……..

10. JOKE OF THE DAY:

Reaching the end of a job interview, the Human Resources Officer asks a young engineer fresh out of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “And what starting salary are you looking for?” The engineer replies, “In the region of $125,000 a year, depending on the benefits package.” The interviewer inquires, “Well, what would you say to a package of five weeks vacation, 14 paid holidays, full medical and dental, company matching retirement fund to 50% of salary, and a company car leased every two years, say, a red Corvette?” The engineer sits up straight and says, “Wow! Are you kidding?” The interviewer replies, “Yeah, but you started it.”

HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!

JAY DEAN

About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

1 Response

Leave a Reply

