CRAZY….50 YEARS HAVE GONE BY…..

It is so hard to believe…..I turned 50 today….FIFTY…..I know that age is “just a number”, and it really is….Because if the truth be known, I ACT 12…..So, there’s that……Anyway, I just wanted to stop by today and let you know about my birthday party, my family and my friends…..

I am overwhelmed at the greetings and wishes being sent my way today…….Honestly, I am…..Hundreds of Facebook posts, calls, texts, e-mails…You name it I’ve been getting it….

I made the comment last night in church that the biggest surprise of the weekend was that over TWELVE people like me!!! Ha ha…We all had a good laugh….

Anyway, my beautiful wife and boys threw me a party Saturday night at the Ramada in Aberdeen……We had a TON of people there…..My darling wife was busy cooking and baking for three days before the party….She did an incredible job!!!

I had a few surprises, but none like this……When I was a sophomore in high school, I took a picture on my Grandparent’s sidewalk in Britton, South Dakota…..It’s the place I hung out the most…….

10252122_10203534086089603_7601349868483551086_n

DIG THE SHORTS AND SOCKS!!! I tell people that my shorts came from the male ‘daisy duke’ section……

Anyway, at my party the other night, my siblings and sons made me a t-shirt of the one I was wearing back then that said “NORWEGIAN POWER.” You see, I’m 100 percent Norske…..

I put my shirt on, and guess what comes around the corner from the other room?

10268499_10200830332761066_1471708673295665675_n

Yep, that’s right…My entire family had “NORWEGIAN POWER” t-shirts made up for my birthday….I was so tickled about that…..What a great show of support and love…..

I have had a wonderful 50th today…….I will be doing another blog probably tomorrow…..Keep checking back…..

And now, it’s time to sit around the Warner Post Office in my hometown……I need to keep watching for my A.A.R.P. card……

About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

4 Responses

  1. Candy

    It sounds like you are gracefully turning 50! I am glad that you are having such a happy birthday. I turn 48 on Mother’s day. We are also celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. At 4:30 pm on Sunday, we are setting sail from Baltimore, MD, on our first cruise. We never had a honeymoon. My husband was in the Army and we were young and poor. What a way to celebrate! I plan to be just as happy about turning another year older, as you seem to be…and how exciting to have a honeymoon that was 30 years in the making! Happy Birthday, Jay!

Leave a Reply

