RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR MONDAY JULY 21ST, 2014

YES…I’M ALIVE….(hope you’re not disappointed…hee hee)

serious-case-of-the-mondays

funny-monday-pictures-17

It is so wonderful to be back….I am rested from my vacation…Had a terrific time…More on that coming up in just a bit!!!

Your favorite blog is sponsored by PIERSON FORD in ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA…..Guess what time of the year it is? it’s our “PIERSON FORD—HEALTHCARE PLUS FEDERAL CREDIT UNION….MEGA SALE!!!” This is actually the second year that we’ve done this sale, and it’s HUGE….12 full days of food, family, fun and savings!!!! It runs now thru Saturday August 2nd…..Here are a couple of cool points of this sale….

***100 percent finance approval is in effect…..

***ticket giveaways for Minnesota Twins games, concerts and more….

***We have ICE CREAM DAY Tuesday July 22nd from 3pm-5pm….

***BREAKFAST DAY from 8am-10am Wednesday July 23rd….

***It’s FAMILY FUN DAY this Thursday july 24th from 3pm-7pm……

AND MANY MORE FUN DAYS COMING……..

For more information become “friends” with PIERSON FORD on Facebook!!!!

or check out our website for all the fantastic vehicle deals at http://www.piersonford.com/

Remember, you can always call us as well at 1-800-627-1237……….

PIERSON FORD IN ABERDEEN!!!!

Ford-logo-wallpaper

1. LET’S HAVE SOME FUN!!!!

Here is a nominee, and probably potential winner of the “DUH AWARD.”

10419459_10152527350678605_2218206502171537760_n

Hmmm…this is probably why my car SNAKES, I mean SHAKES when it goes down the road…..YUCK…

10552442_10152525407158605_2433768251047348643_n

and now for your pleasure…a little “shark humor.”

some-funny-crap-jokes-05

and, obviously, this is MY SENSE OF HUMOR…..

Good-night

Love this one….

400213_10150504469143605_1150232196_n

This seems to make sense…..

berry-break-164

2. Our vacation to WALKER, MINNESOTA was INCREDIBLE!!!! We had four couples from our hometown of WARNER, SOUTH DAKOTA….We rented a five bedroom home on the beach, we had lots of quality time together outdoors, indoors, and by the fire……It was honestly, the PERFECT VACATION……Here are a few pictures of the great time…Obviously, the first couple of pics are my lovely bride and myself…..

10353552_10204200400507047_3090461686545508323_n

10407376_10204200391546823_3264631118205967173_n

And here is one of our entire group outside of the home we rented…..

10547693_10202537482541150_984227412432634603_n

We spent eight or nine days up there, depending on how you look at it….I AM SO RESTED…I AM SO PEACEFUL….I just hope this feeling sticks for awhile……

Not only were we there for our vacation, but we were also there for some GOOD OLD ROCK MUSIC……

1024x768

Here are the band that we saw……

Moondance_Jam_2481559

AND NOW…OUR GROUP’S CHOICE FOR BEST BAND OF THE WEEKEND? it was easy….

concert foreigner 072111

“FOREIGNER” rocked the house…Man, they were AWESOME……Obviously, their original lead singer, LOU GRAMM is not with the band…But they have a young man named KELLY HANSON who is simply amazing…He sounds exactly like LOU GRAMM in LOU’S early days……Every song sounded like the record……And it was hit…after hit…after hit…after hit…after hit……

The only thing that made me sad about this show was that “FOREIGNER’S” creator and guitar player, MICK JONES didn’t come out on stage at first…..I was wondering why he wasn’t there, and then BOOM…he appeared…..It was announced that MICK is only working part time with the band because of serious health issues….I could see that…He was very very thin compared to the last time that we saw this awesome group….Nonetheless, they were INCREDIBLE!!!!

REO SPEEDWAGON rocked the house as well…..funny story…..REO lead singer and original member KEVIN CRONIN was singing a song, when all of sudden we say something fly our on the stage by him….He shouted “HOLY S@#$”, and then backed away from the microphone…We thought at first that he got a shock from the microphone or something…..After the song, he said the following words…..

“You guys are my friends, and I am your friend, and I believe in complete honestly…….Here’s the deal….There are no good dentists in Walker, Minnesota at 10pm on a Saturday night……”

HIS CROWN HAD COME OFF…..CROWN, OR BRIDGE…can’t remember which…But it was hilarious….I felt sorry for him, but, I had to remember that he’s in his sixties now….Things start falling apart…ha ha…….

MY BIGGEST SUPRISE OF THE CONCERTS?

581969819

“BADFINGER” was there, with their original member JOEY MOLLAND…He is now 67, and sounded great!!!

joey-molland1

When I was young, I used to confuse “BADFINGER” songs with “BEATLES” songs…I thought that some of the BADFINGER songs were actually songs by the FAB FOUR, but I was wrong…..What is my favorite BADFINGER song? It’s easy….this one…….

Overall, an awesome vacation…..It fell together so easily, and went flawlessly…..We are definitely going again next year!!!!!!

3. OK…Everybody knows that I despise clowns….They have always freaked me out, and still do to this day…..When I was a kid, I used to almost cry when they came near me…..Well, it comes to nobody’s surprise that the clown “PENNYWISE” in the STEPHEN KING book and movie called “IT”, is a much hated clown to me……

With that said, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT MAKE ME THIS BIRTHDAY CAKE NEXT YEAR…..

10410764_10204201183486621_4346158984356208770_n

HORRIFYING!!!

4. There are many many creative people in this world….This person is one of them….Check out this guy’s “ceiling art” in a “smoking room.” I use the word “smoking” because of what the picture is about….THIS IS POWERFUL…..

10401495_10152325462663883_687690974958194413_n

5. Oh, by the way, the WORST moment of the trip? Being out by the campfires at night, with these doggone things buzzing our heads……

bats2

YEAH, BATS….

Apparently, the eat the mosquitos and other bugs that are in the air, but I don’t care…..They freaked us out……One night, one buzzed right over my wife’s head, and seconds later, right over my head, and we immediately were headed for the house……

On a sad note…….Three of our friends are now vampires………

6. We stopped in FARGO on the way up to WALKER a week ago to have dinner, and to mainly see our son MITCHELL…..All four couples were in FARGO and we decided to meet up for lunch at OLIVE GARDEN before we headed to our vacation destination…..It was rather painful for me to be in FARGO that particular day……Yes, I was pumped about being on our vacation and heading to our vacation home, but something was happening that day that almost drove me crazy…..

paulmccartney1

That’s right, SIR PAUL MCCARTNEY was at the FARGODOME that night….I was so jealous….I have wanted to see him for decades!!! I guess I may have to try and see him at TARGET FIELD in MINNEAPOLIS in August…..yeah right….sorry…no money left after vacation…ha ha……

Some of my friends were at the concert and they said that PAUL was amazing…….He performed for almost three hours from what I hear……

0713mccartney5_0

0713mccartney2

PAUL MCCARTNEY is now 72….Heck, I’m running out of time to see him!!!! Of course, again, he may outlive me!!!!

7. I was deeply saddened on the way home yesterday to hear that one of my favorite actors EVER had passed away….JAMES GARNER was 86 when he died on Saturday……..I have always been a huge fan of JAMES GARNER…….Good looking man, too……

Annex%20-%20Garner,%20James_01

You probably remember him as “BRET MAVERICK”….

James_Garner_Bret_Maverick

He also came back and performed in the MEL GIBSON movie called “MAVERICK.”

maverick

However, a large part of society knows JAMES GARNER as “JIM ROCKFORD.”

the-rockford-files-season-four-large

My favorite movies of JAMES GARNER? Easy……

I thought he was top notch in “SPACE COWBOYS.”

space-cowboys-movie-poster-2000-1020204880

And, even though he had a major role in a minor appearance in this next movie, it is among my favorite…It was a Christian movie that I encourage EVERYBODY to watch!!! GREAT STORY MOVIE…

ultimate_gift_ver2

Here is a photo of JAMES GARNER from the last few years……

jamesgarner11thannualsagnominees_xtpgwgrl5el

james-garner-today1

Thank you, MR. GARNER for decades of entertainment, and may you REST IN PEACE…..

8. We lost another great actress over the last week as well…..ELAINE STRITCH died at the age of 89….She has been a movie actress, TV star, and Broadway star for decades…..

Elaine_Stritch_2_Allan_Warren

You probably remember her as ALEC BALDWIN’S Mother on a few episodes of “30 ROCK.”

fey-stritch-600

elaine-stritch-2-590

The lights of Broadway will be dimmed in her honor….A fitting tribute…….

9. THREE STRIKES AND YOU’RE OUT….On vacation, we went to a winery that was very mediocre……My friends stopped at a brewery that was really not very good….And we ate at a steakhouse that was some of the worst food I have ever had at a fine establishment…..I guess everything can’t be perfect, right?

10. JOKE OF THE DAY:

A guy walks in for his interview.
The interviewer asks, “What’s the first thing you notice about me?”

The guy responds, “Why, You don’t have any ears.”

Interviewer: “Get out! Send in the next guy.”

2nd guy walks in for his interview.

The interviewer asks, “What’s the first thing you notice about me?”

The guy responds, “Why, You don’t have any ears.”

Interviewer: “Get out! Send in the next guy.”

This guy on the way out says to the 3rd guy “What ever you do, don’t say anything about his not having any ears – He’ll kick you right out.”

3rd guy walks in for his interview.

The interviewer asks, “What’s the first thing you notice about me?”

The guy looks at the interviewer intently for a few seconds and responds, “Why, you wear contact lenses don’t you.”

The interviewer says, “That’s impressive that you’re so observant. How could you tell I wear contact lenses?”

3rd guy “Because you don’t have any damn ears to hang glasses on.”

IT’S GOOD TO BE BACK!!! TALK TO YOU SOON!!!

JAY DEAN

About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

1 Response

  1. Travis Leigh

    Foreigner is an excellent band. My favorite song is “Dirty White Boy.” Collective Soul puts on a good show too….

Leave a Reply

