RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR TUESDAY JANUARY 26TH, 2016

Call off the search dogs.  I have been found!!  I have been trying to do a blog for the last ten days and couldn’t get to it.  But, I am back, and HERE WE GO!!

 

Your blog is sponsored by Pierson Ford in Aberdeen, SD.  Hey, have you driven the new Ford Edge yet?  It’s newly redesigned and is SHARP!!

2015-Ford-Edge-11

The folks who are coming in to drive this beauty are falling in love with it, with the great majority of people buying it after driving it.  It has a sleek new design, quite different from the former style.

Also, stop in and check out the Ford Explorer.  We are selling a bunch of these.  Same thing as the Edge.  When people want to upgrade to more room, they are finding the Explorer to be the vehicle they love.  This isn’t your Grandpa’s old Ford Explorer…Not even close!

2016-Ford-Explorer-1

Stop in and test drive today at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen.  Call us today at 1-800-627-1237, or shop online 24 hours a day at http://www.piersonford.com/

 

1.  LET’S TICKLE YOUR FUNNY BONE!

I may have to be more careful at home!  Of course, me not drinking coffee ever sure helps!

12316132_10153850002348707_673391117074155147_n

Ask my wife how I think I am losing weight, and she will say the following.

12508846_10208339054770817_5442369844735981573_n

These could be the happiest pets in the world!

12512314_944156715622007_1141339054689720723_n

I know quite a few finance managers that would LOVE to post this in their offices.

7897680_f520

Sounds like this next family have some “crumby lives.”

funny2

 

2.  I have officially torn apart my Washington Redskins room at my home.  For the past 20  some years I have had an entire room dedicated to my Skins, with autographed jerseys, autographed footballs and cards, plus tons of pictures and knick knacks.  I decided that I needed a change, and have decided to have a “music room” to fit around my jukebox.  So, in the next week, I will have a couple of posters of my main man, Hank Williams, SR, and a few album and 45’s cases of some of my favorite songs.

Probably the coolest thing that I will have in my room is a framed case of about eight 45’s from the 60’s that I used to listen to in my Grandma and Grandpa Ramsey’s basement when I was a young kid.  In fact, it is those songs that got me on the path to my incredible love for music.  I will try to remember to post pictures of the room when we are done with it.

3.  Speaking of redoing rooms, I finally got my way (hee hee), so we are now fixing up our basement walls with a Hollywood theme.  We are putting up framed pictures of Charlie Chaplin, Laurel and Hardy, Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis, plus a few movie posters of our favorite movies.  It’s cool because these are all of MY favorite actors and such.  I can’t wait to see the final product.

4.  WOW!!!  2016 is being a bearcat on our celebrities.  Since we last spoke, a number of celebrities have left this world.  Here are a couple of them.

Actor Alan Rickman died at the age of 69.  His probably most popular role was that of Severus Snape in the “Harry Potter” movies.

4ea42dac21caa610bdfed8be2af61047

However, my favorite role of Alan’s was that of the villain Hans Gruber in the original “Die Hard” movie with Bruce Willis.  He played a terrific bad guy.

alan_rickman_die-hard

Here he is recently.

Alan+Rickman+Qatar+Goodwood+Festival+Day+2+GPDne9pygWjl

Actor Dan Haggerty died at the age of 74.  He played “Grizzly Adams” on the TV show and in the movie.  Here he is with his favorite bear “Ben.”

rs_634x1024-160115074117-634_Dan-Haggerty-Grizzly-Adams-JR-011516

Here is Dan Haggerty in recent times.

maxresdefault

5.  The music world took a major blow early in 2016 with the loss of two legendary voices.  I am actually still in shock about the passing of Glenn Frey, the lead guitarist, lead vocalist, and founding member of the legendary “Eagles.”

4313451238ecd328e66e008eb95dc3d1

Glenn Frey died recently at the age of 67.  I am so thankful that I was able to see the “Eagles” live in concert twice before this happened.  They are truly one of the greatest live performances that I have ever been to.  Here is Glenn Frey in recent times, and one of his band as well.

Glenn+Frey+Rock+Roll+Hall+Fame+Induction+Ceremony+sVsldZYxI7al

Timothy B. Schmit, Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Joe Walsh

I don’t think that a lot of people knew that Glenn Frey was so sick as of recently.  The same goes for rocker David Bowie.  That was kind of a shock to hear of his passing at the age of 69.  It’s actually hard to think of David Bowie being one year away from 70!!

david-bowie-cover

David-Bowie

 

David-Bowie.jpgi33

6.  It’s crazy how this world.  They are dropping like flies!!  As I am writing this blog, I just received word that actor Abe Vigoda died today at the age of 94.  Abe is known for playing Sargent Fish on the “Barney Miller” TV show, and also on the spinoff “Fish.”

Abe_Vigoda_Fish_Barney_Miller_1977

Abe Vigoda lived to be a ripe old age.  94.  And, he enjoying entertaining right up to the end. You can’t ask for much more than that.

B-oqY0wWsAAJwp_

7.  OKAY…ENOUGH DEATH TALK!!  Oh wait, one more…THE MINNESOTA VIKINGS!!  Yikes.  Since we last talked, the Vikings lost a heartbreaker, and I mean a heartbreaker to the Seattle Seahawks in the NFL playoffs.  Viking’s kicker Blair Walsh missed a 27 yard “chip shot” at the end of the game.

blair-walsh-nfl-nfc-wild-card-seattle-seahawks-minnesota-vikings-850x560

The Minnesota Vikings have always been my 2nd favorite team.  I always tell people that I cheer for the Vikings every week, unless they are playing my Washington Redskins.

I think enough time has passed that I can have a little fun, right?  Have you seen the new Minnesota Vikings coffee machine?

12417696_10208339015529836_8656367471183857540_n

WHAT?  TOO SOON?

8.  Now, on to my Washington Redskins.  It was one heck of an afternoon a couple of Sunday’s ago.  The Vikings lost in the early game, and my Redskins lost to the Packers in the late game.  Was I sad?  Of course.  However, I will say this.  I am thrilled that we won the division.  I am thrilled that we are turning things around.  But, I am mostly happy because now, FINALLY, we know who are future quarterback is because of this season.  Kirk Cousins is the guy I have been SCREAMING for during the last three season.  He finally had a full season, and looked great!

Kirk-Cousins-You-Like-That-940x545

9.  And now, I want to talk about “respect and admiration.”  Everybody knows that the eastern part of the country was blasted by snowstorms recently.  Almost everything came to a standstill, and almost everything was closed or cancelled.  Except this.  The “Tomb Of The Unknown Soldier” still had their guards, even during the blizzard.

Old_Guard_tomb_unknown_2015_t590

Tomb_of_the_Unknown_snow

It chokes me up to see dedication to our country like this.  I have nothing but respect, love and admiration for these fine folks.  I wasn’t able to serve because of my asthma, but I did have a Father and two brothers who served.  I respect, love and admire them as well.  GOD BLESS THIS GREAT COUNTRY!!

10.  There has been so much drama on Facebook recently.  Well, not recently, but ALL THE TIME.  Ha Ha.  Because of that drama I give you this!!

12507394_953772274703216_8706676397523252944_n

11.  JOKE OF THE DAY!!

A man was helping one of his cows give birth, when he noticed his 4 year old son Billy standing wide-eyed at the fence, soaking up all of the activity.  The man thought “Great, he’s 4 and already I’m going to have to start explaining the birds and the bees.  But, I won’t jump the gun.  I’ll just let him ask, then I’ll answer him.”  After everything was over, the Dad walked over to his son and said, “Well, Billy, any questions?” Billy stood there opened mouth and wide eyed and said, Yeah, just one.  Exactly how fast was that calf going when he ran into the back of the cow?”

 

HAVE A GREAT WEEK!!  THANKS FOR READING MY BLOG!!

JAY DEAN

 

About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

3 Responses

  1. steve biegler

    Hey Jay I hate to point this out but that is a NEGATIVE battery post with a positive (red) wire connected to it. Look at the top of the battery, looks like a negative sign under the connection. OOPS!

Leave a Reply

