RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR WEDNESDAY JULY 27TH, 2016

I HAVE ONE THING TO SAY!

il_570xN_190478181

Some of you may have been wondering being that I have been absent for quite a while.  I just wanted to let you know that I’m alive and doing well. Just very forgetful.  Ha Ha.  And a very very special thank you to KERRY for sending me a message to let me know that I am missed.

I truly love all of my readers of my blog.  You all make it fun to do, when I remember to do it.  Remember, you can always visit with me via the blog, or you can drop me a line at jayhaaland64@yahoo.com.

Your favorite blog is sponsored by Pierson Ford in Aberdeen, SD. 

LowPriceGeneralStore_1_93a4a2

We currently have our MEGA SALE going on thru this Saturday, with tremendous deals on wheels, plus prizes to register for and stuff like that.  If you are in the area, stop by and register for prizes and check out our lineup.  Remember, you can call us at 1-800-627-1237, or as always, check us out online at piersonford.com

 

1.  I thought it would be fun to do some MUSIC FUNNIES today!!

Hopefully non music lovers get some of these.

13697041_1060268537390253_7940669482793251349_n

Silly zebras!!

tumblr_inline_mkccibz81G1qz4rgp

I have never heard this one before.

music_jokes_for_your_inner_mozart_02

This next one made me laugh out loud, and I have shared it on Facebook and people are loving it.

31113-do-be-do-be-do-Nietzsche-Sartr-UnYd

This one is an oldie but a goodie.

country-music

Hmmm…Apparently not a big fan of this instrument.

classical-music-jokes2-1389953585-view-1

2.  Well, my boys and I are just back from a great weekend together rocking out at Moondance Jam in Walker, MN.

header-logo

 

  We got to see some incredible bands from the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and today.

This is the crowd while I was singing.  And you’ll notice some are leaving.

13718591_10209938975007823_7280776099239492367_n

I can never spend enough times with my guys. 

13612276_10209973347627117_5025795747464693161_n

Here are some short memories from Moondance Jam.

****We had a huge storm that came thru Wednesday night that took down hundreds upon hundreds of trees, and actually killed the power at Moondance until Thursday afternoon.  Luckily for us, we did not go Thursday because we didn’t like the bands.

****This is HILARIOUS.  The power went out Friday night for about 20 minutes.  The power went out when one of my favorite bands were on stage.  The Little River Band was performing all of their hits when the power went out.  Guess what hit song they were singing when the power went out.  “HANG ON, HELP IS ON IT’S WAY.”  You can’t make that up folks!!

****Tyler couldn’t come to Walker until Thursday evening, so Mitchell and I went to Walker together on Wednesday.  While on the way, it was announced that Rick Springfield had cancelled his appearance Friday night.  REALLY?  SERIOUSLY?  I was so disappointed.  Apparently he’s filming a TV show.  Wouldn’t you have thought that he would have known that a few weeks in advance?  With that said, I need to post this.

13781990_1068571819874852_5269305091995714782_n

****The headliner for the entire event was “Boston”, one of our favorite “live” rock bands.  Guess what?  They played FOUR songs and had to quit because of lightning.  DOGGONE IT.  The only saving grace was that I got to hear my favorite Boston song.

****Probably the coolest thing at Moondance was finding out that the owner of Moondance Jam was a relative of mine!!!  My Mom’s first cousin is a man named Willard from Walker, MN.  His daughter Kathy is the founder and owner of the Jam.  Small world isn’t it?

3.  July is one of my favorite months of the year, because my wife and both of my sons have their birthdays in July.  Crazy, huh?  I have always told people that I had to take out an additional job in June to pay for birthdays.  We have always had the plan that the birthday person gets to choose where to have supper and what to do that night.  Things like mini golf, movies, etc.  Well, this year we couldn’t celebrate Mitchell’s birthday because he lives in Sioux Falls, so we had all of them this past Sunday.  Sunday was actually my beautiful wife’s birthday, and this past Monday was Tyler’s.  Here is a picture of the birthday kids.

13686497_10209973349027152_8547219258886263409_n

4.  MOVIE TIME.

For Tyler’s birthday Monday night, he chose to go see the new horror movie “Lights Out.”  We had all been excited to see it.  HAD BEEN.

Lights-Out-Movie

The movie had a great premise of seeing things in the dark. We all have at some time thought we had seen something in the dark.  This movie failed miserably at what it was trying to do.  As my son said, “this movie was dog crap.”

Last night, I sat down and watched a movie that my sons have been bugging me to watch.

Green-Inferno-movie-poster

This movie is about a group of college activists who go over to Peru to protest, and wind up in a plane crash eventually being found by a tribe….OF CANNIBALS.  You can see where this movie goes from there.  I have never ever felt like throwing up in a movie, but I felt it last night. GORY!!

My boys said that the tribe in this movie was a real tribe in Peru.  They looked real.  If you like to be grossed out, it’s not a bad movie.  But, you have to have the stomach for it.

5. While in Minnesota I had the opportunity to see something that I’ve always wanted to see.  I told you a while back in the blog that Mitchell and I skipped Thursday’s lineup, so we went to Grand Rapids, MN.  WHY?  Check it out!

13716174_10209944591268226_188309097943669389_n

All of you know what a HUGE fan I am of the “Wizard Of Oz” movie.  Seeing Judy Garland’s birthplace and museum was incredible.  Here is the house she was born in.

13729011_10209944591868241_284104658405474590_n

We both thought it was super cool to walk the same floors that Judy Garland walked. Plus they had a museum with some artifacts, including the carriage that was in the movie.

13775958_10209944843314527_8689874656585135716_n

Here’s some awesome trivia.  This particular carriage that is in the museum was the actual carriage used in the movie.  Ready for this?  It was once owned by ABRAHAM LINCOLN.  Yes, that Abraham Lincoln.  This carriage was given to President Lincoln as a gift during the Civil War.

13716005_10209944843914542_2337640616615031687_n

Probably the most famous story to come out of this museum was the fact that a few years ago, someone stole the ruby red slippers that were on display.  They were one of the actual pairs of slippers worn by Judy Garland in the movie.  What a bunch of jerks to do something like that.  The question I have is this.  WHO ARE THEY GOING TO SHOW?  Someone I know from Grand Rapids says that a lot of the community think that the slippers are in the bottom of a lake somewhere.  WHAT A WASTE!!

6.  Speaking of music, I saw this and actually have a couple of comments on it.

Music-Preference-e1344950877720-500x545

My boys and I had a talk while we were together this past weekend, and the subject of today’s music came up.  My boys love the music from the 70’s and 80’s.  They love all of the classic rock bands like Boston, Chicago, Styx, AC/DC and others.  One of my sons said that he cannot see many people remembering the songs of today in 30 years.  I mean, a lot of us can sing along with “25 or 6 to 4” by Chicago.  But, will people sing along with a Lady Gaga song 30 years from now?  Or a Kanye West song?  I suggest no, but i guess only time will tell.

I was in the radio business for 25 years and I have seen a lot of singers come and go.  I feel that today’s country, pop and rock music are kind of like “cookie cutter” music.  They are finding the good looking, attention getting people that look good in jeans and dresses or whatever.  Today’s artists, for the most part are not being set up for a “career”, but only for some quick bucks and a flash in the pan success.  It’s sad.

7.  This world is upsetting me, as I’m sure it’s upsetting you.  We had the horrible Florida nightclub shootings.  We have had all of these cop killings which are unacceptable.  We have had all of this terrorist devastation in France and other parts of the world.  Just yesterday an older priest in France had his throat slit DURING MASS.  It turned out it was apparently someone associated with ISIS.  My friends, I am terrified that there is no turning back in this world.  I am terrified that we will continue to get worse and worse.  I am terrified that the racial intolerance won’t get any better.  CAN’T PEOPLE REALIZE THAT WE ARE ALL THE SAME?  Color, ethnicity, and other barriers should not be a part of this country.  But they are.  And there are no signs that it will get better any time soon.  I’m not sure what you do, but I pray a lot.  I pray that things will turn around before it’s too late.  It may be too late already.

8.  While we were away this weekend, I was shocked to hear of the death of former Minnesota Viking’s and Arizona Cardinals coach Dennis Green.  He died at the age of only 67 due to cardiac arrest.

DennisGreen_1096770_640x360

dennis_green

If my memory serves me correctly Denny Green is the second longest tenured coach in Viking’s history, only behind the legendary Bud Grant.  Denny coached the Vikings from 1992-2001.  People will mostly remember Dennis Green for a couple of things.

****1998.  The year he had the Viking’s at 15-1 and fell one game short of the Super Bowl.  He will also be remembered as the guy who “took a knee” at the end of the fourth quarter against the Atlanta Falcons, which pushed the game into overtime in which the Falcons upset the home team Vikings.  This was one of the worst Viking’s losses in the history of the franchise.  The Vikes were favored, and choked, basically.  I remember watching the game at my brother’s house.  My bro is a huge huge Viking’s fan, and so is his wife, my wife and other family members.  Heck, the Vikings are my second favorite team only to my beloved WASHINGTON REDSKINS.  Point being, my brother watched the fourth quarter go by and said going into the overtime, “we’re done.  game over. Atlanta has momentum and will win.”  Unfortunately he was correct.

****The other thing Denny will be remembered for is his rant after an Arizona Cardinals game, in which he yelled “WE ARE WHO THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE.”  This rant has become legendary. 

****But mostly, Dennis Green will be remembered as a terrific drafter.  He drafted the likes of Randy Moss, Larry Fitzgerald, Darnell Dockett and Karlos Dansby among others.  Pretty impressive!!

9.  My wife gets so mad at me because I am a tremendous tipper.  I used to wait on tables, so I know the value of getting a good tip.  I also knew HOW to get a good tip.  Take care of the people at your tables.  Take care of their every whim.  Smile, be courteous, stop back once in awhile, and make them laugh.  There are a few waitresses in Aberdeen who love to see me walk in, because I’ve been known to give a ten dollar tip on a 20 dollar charge.  That is, if they were SPECTACULAR.  For the first time in a long long time, I did not give a tip the other night. We were at a pizza joint in Walker, MN, and our waiter did a lot of no-no’s.  A table that came in ten minutes after us got waited on first.  That table got their drinks and gave their orders before we were asked what we wanted to drink.  Our food came and we didn’t see our host again until he brought the bill.  I understand they were busy, but that is totally unacceptable.  I would rather give more money to a good waiter/waitress, than to give a little bit of money to a poor one.

10.  JOKE OF THE DAY!!

 

The room was full of pregnant women and their partners, and the Lamaze class was in full swing. The instructor was teaching the women how to breathe properly, along with informing the men how to give the necessary assurances at this stage of the plan.

The teacher then announced, “Ladies, exercise is good for you. Walking is especially beneficial. And, gentlemen, it wouldn’t hurt you to take the time to go walking with your partner!”

The room really got quiet.

Finally, a man in the middle of the group raised his hand.

“Yes?” replied the teacher.

“Is it alright if she carries a golf bag while we walk?”

 

HAVE A TERRIFIC DAY MY FRIENDS!!!

JAY DEAN

2 thoughts on “RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR WEDNESDAY JULY 27TH, 2016

  1. We look so forward to opening the emails from you. You make us smile and we appreciate our world more! Thank you for your contributions and keep them emails comin’ to Oklahoma City!

Leave a Reply

