RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 2ND, 2016

SERIOUSLY?  NOVEMBER ALREADY?  YIKES!!  But there’s also something else to think about.

voting-and-time-change-1

Your favorite blog is sponsored by Pierson Ford in Aberdeen, SD.  It truly is November, and even though the weather is nice right now, it IS the season of trucks.  Pierson Ford has  a ton of trucks on the lot, including the highly anticipated, all new 2017 Ford F-250 Super Duty.  This baby has the all new military grade aluminum alloy body, and is SUPER SHARP.

3493676_78345998_640

3493676_78346000_640

Plus on the pre-owned side, we have a tremendous row of trucks of all different brands and all different colors.  You can call us at the number above, or you can stop and see us in the auto plaza in Aberdeen, SD.  Check us out online at http://www.piersonford.com/

1.  LET’S HAVE SOME FUN!!

This one is funny, NO BONES about it.

14572885_10210899421378382_4913189548366961245_n

Our new Human Resources lady is taking her job a little too seriously.

31509

This one has a good message, but also a funny one intertwined.

789620d281a9bc3cc1cd7c1448dbe354

So, THAT’S how they did it!!!

flat550x550075f

And finally, a true JAY DEAN joke.

creative-jokes-10

2.  Well, another Halloween is in the books, and my wife and I and our friends may have outdone ourselves this year in our costumes.  Our nephew’s wife, Samantha, was BRILLIANT with her makeup technique.  She spent quite a bit of time on youtube.com to find out how to properly put on our makeup.  End result?  AWESOME.

14572984_10210901928721064_7329537921096004127_n

14915273_10210902247049022_1275370767495687698_n

Notice the detail that she took in making my “owies” look real.

14642044_10210901951081623_878568730010527354_n

14702320_10210901950281603_364398158675036009_n

We had such a blast.  We took 2nd place AGAIN this year.  That makes two years for 2nd place.

Always the bridesmaid, never the bride.

WAIT UNTIL NEXT YEAR!!

3.  Guess where we’re going tomorrow?  (Thursday 11-2-16)

co-sign

YAY!!!   We are going to our future home!!!  I’m sad, because my son Mitchell won’t be with us, but Tyler, my gorgeous wife and I will be heading to Littleton, Colorado for our niece’s wedding.  We are pretty pumped up about it.  Every time I pull into Colorado, I want to move there.  Patience, Jay, patience!!!

4.  PIZZA PARTY!!  Anyone that knows me knows that I’m a pizza freak.  I told my wife that if my doctor ever says that I can not longer eat pizza, then just PULL THE PLUG!!  So, I was thinking about pizza from when I was in grade school, junior high and high school.  There are two kinds of pizza places that I LOVED back then.

14572390_10210898233868695_8764372047256695649_n

I LOVED Shakey’s pizza.  But one quick story.  We were at a Shakey’s in Grand Forks, ND when I was probably in junior high.  I had a touch of the flu, so when I ate my pizza I upchucked it back up. So, my idiotic mind told me that Shakey’s pizza made me puke.  Which is not the case.  I eventually got over my mindset and went back to Shakey’s.

And the other one?

14907086_10210898234068700_5646224674001906326_n

I LOVE Happy Joe’s pizza.  The first story is that when we were in junior high, my aunt and uncle from Langford, SD used to take my brother Troy and me to this place.  When somebody had a birthday they would crank up a siren, lights would go off and everybody would sing.  Twice, we told them it was Uncle Dave’s birthday, which is was not.  Good clean fun.

My second story involves my good friend Bryan, who is no longer with us.  Bryan loved Happy Joe’s canadian bacon with PINEAPPLE on the pizza.  YUCK.  Not my idea of a good pizza.  But Bryan loved it.  So when our Happy Joe’s closed in Aberdeen, the next closest one was in Brookings, SD.  Which was roughly two and half hours from our hometown.  That didn’t matter.  Bryan and I would, probably once a month, take off on a Saturday or Sunday, drive to Brookings, eat pizza and come home.  Many people would think this was a horrible waste of time, but we didn’t.  Not only did we have great pizza, but we made great memories!!!  I LOVE AND MISS YOU BRYAN!!!

5.  A man passed away this week in Nashville, TN.  You most likely don’t know his name, but you know his products.  Curly Putman was a genius of a songwriter.  He wrote a few of the biggest songs in country music history.  Mr. Putman died this week at the age of 85.  See if you know two of the songs he wrote.

The first one is absolutely a country standard.

porter-wagoner-green-green-grass-of-home-rca-gold-standard

And the next one is one that Curly co-wrote with Bobby Braddock.  Ever heard of this song?

maxresdefault

Yep, he wrote or co-wrote two of the biggest songs in country music history.  If you mention his name in music circles in Nashville, it always brings a smile to people’s faces, and stories galore about Curly.  Let’s salute him and his legacy by letting you watch and listen to two of his writing gifts to all of us for all time.

And, sing along with this classic!!

WHAT A TREMENDOUS LEGACY TO LEAVE!!

6.  OK, I told you before that I will NOT get political on my blog.  You will never know who I am voting for, or what issues I believe in.  I don’t think this is the place for it.  I will however, say this.

vote_

No matter what your feelings are, I hope you VOTE.  Voting is a right, duty, and privilege for us in this country.  Think about the countries around the world that do NOT get a choice.  Think about the countries around the world that do NOT have a voice.  We have become a country of spoiled people.  We have all of these freedoms and we take them for granted all the time.  Please, take the time to vote.  Take the time to participate in a freedom that we could lose someday.

7.  Here’s something to think about.

d84127edf47b6b9de4730f1c18ac1f89

Wouldn’t that be scary?  Or just head to Walmart at 2AM and see what horror stories you can find.  I am shivering with fear just thinking about it.

But with that said, I want to talk about horror movies for a minute or so.  My wife and I love Halloween.  You should have seen our yard!!  I with I could go back a couple of days and take a few pictures for you.  We also love to watch horror movies while we’re handing out candy.  This year?  Not so much.  First of all, my Warner Monarchs football team had a playoff game on Halloween night, so I was at the game.  My baby was home handing out candy to only a few kids, because most of the kids were at the game!!

She said that there were not that many good horror movies on that night.  And the one she was looking for wasn’t on either.  And then she found it.  And most likely screamed with delight!  Which movie do we both LOVE to watch on Halloween?

hocus-pocus-movie-poster-1619

We absolutely LOVE that movie.  It’s kind of creepy, kind of funny, and very entertaining.  And, just because Halloween is over doesn’t mean I will stop watching horror movies. Nope.  I will watch them whenever I can.  Unless I’m home alone.  Then I get scared.

8.  JOKE OF THE DAY!!

A man enters a barbershop for a shave.  While the barber is foaming him up, the guy mentions the problems he has getting a close shave around his cheeks.

“I have just the thing,” says the barber as he took out a small wooden ball from a nearby drawer.  “Now, just place this between your cheek and gum.”

The client places the ball in his mouth and the barber proceeds to give him the closest shave that the man has ever experienced.  After a few strokes, the client asks in a garbled voice, “And what happens if I swallow it?”

“No problem,” says the barber.  “Just bring it back tomorrow like everyone else does.”

GROSS, BUT FUNNY.

HAVE A GREAT WEEK MY FRIENDS!!

JAY DEAN

 

Leave a Reply

