RANDOM THOUGHTS FOR FRIDAY APRIL 7TH, 2017

THIS is how we roll in South Dakota!!

Funny-Owl

We have had some BEAUTIFUL weather, but we can’t get cocky until about mid June.  At least by then the threat of snow will be gone. For a few weeks.

Your blog is sponsored by Pierson Ford in Aberdeen, SD.  Wow, the lease specials have been crazy.  People have been driving Fords out of here like crazy.  The F-150 leases are great.  Fusion leases are awesome.  Practically every Ford vehicle has great lease options right now. 

LowPriceGeneralStore_1_93a4a2

What you can do is check out our inventory at http://www.piersonford.com/ and then give us a call at 1-800-627-1237.  We want to help you get in the vehicle of your dreams!!

1.  LET’S START OUT WITH SOME FUN!!!

Thank goodness I like my doctor.

d2641465a6d99ac9fd01d4e5cc7a834e

And now from the “where are they now?” file.

23193fd70d20bb07608de22b43d4e03d

I’m probably the only one in the world that was bored stiff in this store.

job-interview-cartoon-funny

This spuds for you.

dont-roll-your-eyes-young-man-cartoons-funny-bits

And last but not least!

Mormon-LDS-Meme-Funny-17

2.  Well, in case you’re wondering, my new radio show went off without a hitch.  And, I’m hearing some rave reviews of it, too.

Publication2

This show has been a dream of mine.  If you love classic country music, I mean the TWANG of country music, then I invite you to listen to the show.  “Country Legends Jukebox” is on every Sunday afternoon from 3-5PM CENTRAL TIME.  You can follow the link below and listen to the show if you would like to.

http://www.dakotabroadcasting.com/

Just click on the “listen live to 105.5” icon and you can hear the show.  Then, let me know what you think!!

3.  Another Hollywood icon is gone.  The “mouth” has died.  Don Rickles was 90 years old when he died this week.  Nice long life. Don Rickles was the king of insult comedy.  I used to love watching him on Johnny Carson’s show.  I will say though, a little went a long way with me.  I loved him for the first five minutes and then it kind of got old.  Did you remember that Don was one of the characters on the “Toy Story” movie series?

hasta-el-infinito-y-mas-alla-fallece-don-rickles-el-eterno-cara-de-papa-de-toy-story-main-1491581159

don_rickles_hello_dummy

don-rickles

it’s funny how sometimes the “act” that performers put on is nothing like who they are in real life.  Such, apparently, was the case with Don Rickles.  Since he died, numerous celebrities have come out to say that he was the “kindest guy ever”, and that he “lit up a room”, and that “he was everybody’s best friend.” 

Sounds like Don was a legend in more ways than one.

4.  Here comes the NHL postseason.  And what about my team?  This pretty much tells it all.

17671134_10210513566888893_935104192_n (2)

For the past three weeks everybody has been “poking” the Minnesota Wild hoping they would come alive and “do stuff.”  Every team hits a losing streak during the season.  The sad thing is that the Wild didn’t have one until recently.  The end of the regular season is probably not the best of times for a losing streak.  However, with the playoffs beginning next week, we will find out which team will show up.  Will it be the team that many picked to get in the Stanley Cup Finals, or will it be the team that has caused me to gray even more in the past three weeks.

5.  Guess who’s coming to Sioux Falls?

rs-235512-Paul-Simon-Suarez_0749_V03_med

PAUL SIMON!!!  And, yes, I already have tickets!!  One of the most heartbreaking times in concert going happened to be around a dozen years ago.  I probably have mentioned this story, but my beautiful wife got me tickets for my birthday to see “Simon And Garfunkel” in Fargo.  I was PUMPED.  I have always loved their music.  Well, long story even longer, they cancelled the tour because Art Garfunkel developed some throat issues.  My heart was broken.  So, now at least we get to see HALF of the duo.  And, my wife and I love love love Paul Simon’s solo stuff.

6.  THIS NEXT COMMENT IS THE TRUTH!!

d120c277223b7b8f72de0697e16eef7aafa49ca5c4ec8f71df566b198affe5d6

I was actually able to turn my TV on one Saturday morning awhile back and I was APPALLED by the lack of Saturday morning programming.  WHERE ARE THE CARTOONS?  And this picture is true.  If your channel’s name is CARTOON Network, then, you would think all the programming is cartoons.

Which got me thinking about some of my favorite cartoons from when I was a kid.  See if you remember some of my favorites.

6eee3f991899f56bb742d22cc49d005f

Who didn’t like “Underdog” and Miss Polly?  Even the villains were fun!

61D6RRCNRGL__SY445_

The goolies was one of my all time favorite cartoons.  It made monster movies less scary, I guess.  And remember when Sabrina was part of the show?

But, of course, we always got up super early on Saturday mornings so we didn’t miss this next one.

98c7fa8911c2bb595e2b07a43c29a2d0

I have a box set of some of the “Looney Tunes”, and I don’t watch it as much as I should.  There really wasn’t a character that I didn’t like, except for maybe “PEPE LEPEW.”  I just never got into that one.

70230767

Sigmund was one of my favorites, probably because Johnny Whitaker from “Family Affair” was on the show.  Billy Barty playing Sigmund also was pretty cool.

Pufnstuf

Thank goodness I didn’t take drugs when I was a kid.  Otherwise H.R. Pufnstuf would have been OUT OF THIS WORLD.

And finally.

TheBananaSplitsDVD_jpg_opt369x526o0,0s369x526

This is another one that you wouldn’t have wanted to be buzzed while you were watching.  The funny thing is, I’ve seen some of the reruns, and they certainly didn’t carry on the same magic 40 years later.

It’s amazing that our Mom couldn’t get our butts out of bed in the morning for school during the week, but come Saturday morning, we were on the floor in the living room ready to watch 6 hours of cartoons.

By the way, we started out the morning at 5:30AM with “Davey and Goliath.”

NNVG2317

7.  How about this!!

Crazy-funny-minions-cartoons-quote

I have said for years and years that social media will be the destruction of this country.  And I think it will be.  It is so easy to bash someone or spread rumors and lies via social media.  Our leaders, entertainers, whomever, can’t take two steps and someone is bashing them.  Social media is an invisible wall that some very very unhappy and pathetic people hide behind.  This country has become so very negative.  We seem to hate more than we love.  Social media has a lot to do with that.

With that said, there are things I do love about social media.  I love keeping up with friends and family on Facebook.  I have connected with friends from 40 years ago that I haven’t seen in that long.  But the bashing and negative stuff is taking a toll on me.  We need to regroup as a country and as friends and family.  But, because of social media, I think it’s probably too late.

8.  JOKE OF THE DAY!

Bob was in trouble. He forgot his wedding anniversary. His wife was really angry. She told him “Tomorrow morning, I expect to find a gift in the driveway that goes from 0 to 200 in 6 seconds AND IT BETTER BE THERE!” The next morning he got up early and left for work. When his wife woke up, she looked out the window and sure enough there was a box gift-wrapped in the middle of the driveway. Confused, the wife put on her robe and ran out to the driveway, brought the box back in the house. She opened it and found a brand new bathroom scale. Bob has been missing since Friday.
THAT’S IT FOR NOW!  TAKE CARE!
JAY DEAN
About jaydeanhcr

Jay Dean spent 25 years in the radio business working morning shows and having fun on the air. He then turned his attention to working at Pierson Ford in Aberdeen in vehicle sales. Jay also helps out ministering at three different churches in the area. Jay is at St. John's Lutheran in Hecla, SD, Trinity Lutheran in Houghton, SD, and Grace Covenant Lutheran in Aberdeen, SD. Jay is blessed to have his beautiful wife Jeannie by his side, and received the two greatest gifts he could ever receive in his sons Tyler and Mitchell. Jay's interests including listening to classic country music, including his favorite Hank Williams, SR., and watching his beloved Washington Redskins and Minnesota Wild.

Leave a Reply

